Yangon-Mandalay Highway Road,
(8/9) ward, Oakthar Myothit, Bago,
Bago Region, Myanmar.
718.65 acre
10367 Day students, 11387 Distance students

Background History of Bago University

Bago Regional College was founded on 27th March 1977. At that time, the college buildings were still under construction. Therefore, students had to attend their classes at No. 1 Basic Education High School, Bago from 27th March 1977 to 30th June 1977 together with Basic Education students in two shifts.

Then, on 1st July 1977, it was moved to No. 4 Basic Education High School, Bago (Basic Education Middle School, Bago at present) as Bago Regional College.

Bago Regional College was restructured as a two-year College like other regional Colleges on 30th November 1981.

On 17th August 1992, it became Bago Degree College in Ward 8/9 of Oaktha Myothit on the eastern side of Yangon-Mandalay highway. Then it was upgraded as Bago University on 13 th June 2011. The campus of Bago University is 718.65 acres wide and it is five miles from Bago.

Principals and Rectors

U Soe Thein

2-5-1977 to 15-2-1982

Dr. Theing Aung

16-2-1982 to 21-2-1986

U Myint Maung

25-2-1986 to 30-4-1990

U Chit Phae

16-11-1990 to 14-5-1991

U Kyi Lwin

15-5-1991 to 22-5-1992

Dr. Hla Myint

22-5-1992 to 4-4-1994

Dr. Maung Kyaw

29-12-1994 to 7-8-1999

U Khin Maung Sein

13-8-1999 to 31-5-2001

U Kyaw Myint Oo

18-6-2001 to 28-11-2001

U Thein Win

29-11-2001 to 28-12-2007

U Chit Swe

10-5-2007 to 21-1-2009

Dr. Than Win

21-1-2009 to 11-7-2011

Dr. Kyi Soe

11-7-2011 to 17-6-2016

Dr. Min Aung

14-7-2016 to 23-10-2017

Dr. Aye Aye Tun

6-11-2017 – to date